Instructions for Permits to Carry a Firearm
You must have a valid NJ Firearms ID card to apply. If not, you need to apply for an Initial Application for Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (S.T.S. 033). Instructions are available on this page and at the police records window.
- Complete State of New Jersey Application for Permit to Carry a Handgun, form S.P. 642 in triplicate. All references must know the applicant for a minimum of three (3) years prior to the date of the application. All original copies must be notarized. The applications MUST be double sided.
- Submit four (4) 1-1/2" x 1-1/2" color passport photographs.
- Complete the Consent for Mental Health Search, Consent for Mental Health Records Search [sp-66] Form.
- Must be fingerprinted. Visit IDEMIA's websiteto schedule an appointment. The service code for firearms licensing, 2C:58-1, is "2F164B."
Chester’s ORI number is "NJ014700." NJSP suggests you use your last name and date of application as the contributor’s case number.
*Fingerprint results must be received within ninety (90) days of application.
- Written proof of ownership of the handgun(s) you intend on carrying. Ownership can be a purchase receipt or permit to purchase or a notarized letter of ownership listing the make, model and serial number of the handgun(s). Shall demonstrate "that you are thoroughly familiar with the safe handling and use of handguns," in accordance with NJAC 13:54-2.4(b). Qualification must be within six (6) months of application and must also be obtained from a certified firearms instructor. The written certification must include the instructors name and certification number, make, model, caliber and serial number of handgun(s).
- Proof of identification and citizenship (driver's license and birth certificate/naturalization paperwork/green card OR driver’s license and passport)
- A money order in the amount of $50.00 payable to the "State of New Jersey Treasurer."
Thorough familiarity with the safe handling and use of handguns may be evidenced by:
- Completion of a firearms training course substantially equivalent to the firearms training approved by the Police Training Commission as described by NJSA 2C:39-6j;
- Submission of most recent handgun qualification scores utilizing the handgun(s) intended to carry as evidenced by test firings administered by a certified firearms instructor of a police academy, a certified firearms instructor of the National Rifle Assn, or any other recognized certified firearms instructor;
- Completion of a course or test in the safe handling of a handgun administered by a certified firearms instructor of a police academy, a certified firearms instructor of the National Rifle Assn, or any other recognized certified firearms instructor; or
- Passage of any test in this State's laws governing the use of force administered by a certified instructor of a police academy, a certified instructor of the National Rifle Assn, or any other recognized certified instructor.
The required written Firearms Qualification, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:54-2.4(b), can be obtained at most firearm ranges throughout the state. A list is also available on the NJ State Police web site . All Permit to Carry applications are still subject to thorough background checks to ensure that the applicant is not subject to any of the disabilities set forth in 2C:58-3(c)(1-11). A New Jersey permit to carry is valid for 2 years from time of approval. To renew, the same application process applies.
The above listed forms can be found on the NJSP Firearms Information Page:
When you have completed this process and the above listed steps please contact us for an appointment to drop off your application:
Denise Riley firstname.lastname@example.org or 908-879-5514 ext. 871
Lt. RonTotams email@example.com or 908-879-5514 ext. 852
Our apologies but due to an overwhelming number of requests for permits to carry a firearm, applications will ONLY be accepted with an appointment and not on a walk in basis. Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding in this matter.